Once in a lifetime, you should visit the Fjords in Western Norway. Here we have some of the longest, deepest, narrowest and most beautiful fjords in the world. And in Norway there are thousands of them. The Sognefjord is the longest one with a length of 204 kilometres. Some places the Sognefjord is more than 1300 metres deep, with the surrounding mountains as high as the fjord is deep. The Geirangerfjord and Nærøyfjord are incorporated into the UNESCO World Heritage List. And the Norwegian Fjords are voted as the world’s best travel destination by the National Geographic Traveler magazine.


Visitnorway - FjordsCredit: Tomasz Furmanek


The most popular Fjords to visit are the Geirangerfjord and Romsdalsfjord in Møre & Romsdal, the Nærøyfjord, Sognefjord and Nordfjord in Sogn & Fjordane, the Hardangerfjord in Hordaland and the Lysefjord in Rogaland. The fjords in Norway are known for the wild, beautiful and untouched nature. Fjords, mountains, glaciers, waterfalls and rivers, lakes and mountain lakes, snow, green grasslands, fish, fruit and berries, fresh air and clean flowing water calls for people searching for adventure, silence, activity, hiking, skiing, kayaking, adrenaline kick, speed and excitement.

Below you can see some pictures from the Western Norwegian Fjords. May the pictures inspire you to come and see the fjords in real.

Useful Links:
Official page for Norway:
Official page for Fjord Norway:
Plan and book fjord travel, accommodation and activities:
Fjord Pass Discounts:

Norway in a Nutshell by Fjord Tours

Facebook Comments