The Western Norwegian Fjords consists of three counties. Until January 1st 2020 it were four counties, but Hordaland and Sogn og Fjordane has now merged into the county of Vestland. From north to south: Møre og Romsdal, Vestland and Rogaland. - Plan your Norway trip with Go Fjords

The Norwegian fjords are rated as the worlds best travel destination by the magazine National Geographic Traveler. Below you can read about and see pictures from the four fjord counties.

Season and Safety

Many of the activities and attractions mentioned on this website are open only in summer and are closed in winter. This also applies to many of the roads and accommodations mentioned. Season and opening time will vary. It depends on where it is and what activity, attraction, road and accommodation it is, it usually opens in the summer and closes in the autumn, depending on i.a. the amount of snow and the risk of avalanches in the area. Read more about season, important safety information and your own responsibility…

The fjords

The most popular Fjords to visit are the Geirangerfjord, Hjørundfjord and Romsdalsfjord in Møre & Romsdal, the Nærøyfjord, Sognefjord and Nordfjord in Sogn & Fjordane, the Hardangerfjord in Hordaland and the Lysefjord in Rogaland. See the Fjord Guide for more information about the main fjords.

The fjords in Norway are known for the wild, beautiful and untouched nature. Fjords, mountains, glaciers, waterfalls and rivers, lakes and mountain lakes, fresh air and clean flowing water calls for people searching for adventure, silence, activity, hiking, skiing, surfing, speed and excitement.

Møre og Romsdal County

Møre og Romsdal is the northernmost county in Western Norway. The county is devided into three parts; Nordmøre, Romsdal and Sunnmøre. The most famous fjord is the UNESCO World Heritage protected Geirangerfjord. The Geiranger – Trollstigen National Tourist Route and The Atlantic Road are two famous road streches in the county. 

KristiansundMoldeÅndalsnes and Ålesund are the four cities in the county.

In the western part, the coast and the many isles are dominating the landscape. Long fjords and steep mountains dominates the inner part of the county. Well-known tourist attractions are: TrollstigenThe Troll Wall (Trollveggen), Romsdalshorn, Romsdal Gondola, the Rauma River, the Atlantic Roadthe Geirangerfjord, the Hjørundfjord and the Romsdalsfjord.

Vestland, Northern Part (previously Sogn og Fjordane County)

Sogn og Fjordane is the northern part of Vestland County and has the longest fjord and the largest icecap. It is devided into three parts; Nordfjord, Sunnfjord and Sogn. Here we have the westernmost point in Norway, Steinsøy. The Sognefjord is more than 200 kilometers long. The Nærøyfjord is protected as UNESCO World Heritage.

Florø, Måløy and Førde are the three cities in Sogn og Fjordane. Other well-known places are Sogndal, Stryn, Sandane, Nordfjordeid, Loen, Olden, Vik, Lærdal, Aurland, Flåm, Balestrand and Fjærland.

The outer part is dominated by coast and isles. In the inner part, the fjord is surrounded by steep and high mountains. Well-known tourist attractions are: The Nærøyfjordthe Sognefjordthe Flåm Railwaythe Nigardsbreen Glacier, Veitastrond and the Austerdalsbreen Glacierthe Briksdal Glacier , Loen Skylift and Via Ferrata Loen, Jølster and the Stave Churches in Sogn.

Vestland, Southern Part (previously Hordaland County)

Hordaland is the southern part of Vestland County and is located in the centre of Western Norway. It is devided into five parts; Nordhordland, Midthordland, Voss, Hardanger and Sunnhordland. The Hardangerfjord in Hardanger, also known for its apple tree blossoming in the spring, is Norway´s second longest fjord. Bergen is the second largest city in Norway and is known as “The Gateway to the Fjords”.

Bergen, Voss, Stord and Odda are the four cities in Hordaland. From Bergen, you can join Fjord Cruises to both the Hardangerfjord and the Sognefjord.

Isles, fjords, mountains, glaciers and waterfalls are keywords for this county. Well-known tourist attractions are: Trolltunga, HM Queen Sonja`s Panoramic Hiking Trail in Hardanger, Mt Fløien and Fløibanen Funicular and the UNESCO World Heritage protected Bryggen in Bergen, The composer Edvard Grieg’s home Troldhaugen, the Hardangerfjordthe Folgefonna Glacierthe Vøringsfossen Waterfall and the apple tree blossoming in Hardanger.

Rogaland County

Rogaland is the southernmost of the four fjord counties in Norway. The county is devided into four parts; Haugalandet, Ryfylke, Jæren and Dalane. Norway’s history begins in Rogaland. It was here the first humans settled in Norway. Boknafjorden is the longest and deepest fjord in the county. The most famous fjord is the Lysefjord which is surrounded by well known mountains like Kjerag and Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock). The hike to Preikestolen is one of Norway´s hiking icons.

Stavanger, Sandnes, EgersundHaugesund, Jørpeland, Sauda, Bryne, Åkra, Kopervik and Skudesneshavn are the ten cities in Rogaland.

The nature varies from flat agriculture landscape to deep fjords and high mountains. Well-known tourist attractions are: Preikestolen (The Pulpit Rock), Kjerag, The Lysefjord, Trollpikken and the Sola Beach.

FJORDS – Accommodation in Western Norway

Great Hotels in the Fjords of Norway
Bath and Spa Hotels in the Fjords of Norway
Fjords Living – Special Accommodation in the Fjords of Norway

FJORDS – Useful Links

Go Fjords – Big and Small Fjord Experiences
Visit Norway – Official page for Norway
Fjord Norway – Official page for Fjord Norway

 The best of the Western Fjords – Map Overview